I only have about 10 minutes to write in here, it has been a long while, and I don’t want to write a lot, but standing here sipping on a warm coffee watching my husband clean up our messy kitchen, I am inspired to share a small peace of my heart with you.

I don’t think you should get married, not until you have met the person who is going to be your partner.  I think you should live and love as strongly as possible as a single person until that one that makes you live and love stronger than you could on your own finds you.  Maybe you’ll find them, maybe you’ll find each other, I don’t know! I’m not an expert on marriage, but I am so thankful God blessed me with the partner I have for so many reasons.  Below are just a few.

1. I am better because of Tim:  Tim grounds me and challenges me.  He brings my passionate heart so full of dreams back to earth where I can make a dream become a reality.  When I feel like my world is falling apart, he helps me open my eyes to count my blessings.  With him by my side I am able to do more, love more, and live more than I was able to on my own.

2. I am more courageous because of Tim: Inside this homebody in an adventurous heart that longs to hear, touch, taste, smell, and see the world around me.  Tim makes the logistics work, and where I am too scared to realize my dreams, Tim is 10 paces ahead of me, eagerly urging me on, take the next, let’s keep going!  His excitement for the world full of possibilities pushes me to be more courageous, to take that next step.

3. Tim lives out his love:  Tim doesn’t just tell me to look to God, he lives out God.  When the world around me feels like it is caving in, and I can’t fathom that there is a God who sees me let alone loves me, Tim doesn’t just tell me to trust, he shows me why I should.  When I am walking through the heart of dark depression, Tim leaves me breathless, thinking if there really is a God who loves me the way this man does, and Tim says he loves me more, wow… how could this be?

Don’t get married, not for marriage.  Get married when you find the one who makes you better, who lives a life that inspires you, and who is inspired by you.  Don’t get married, not until you meet your beloved and your friend, anything else just pales in comparison. Wait.

