So yesterday my news feed was blowing up with opinions on the chick-fil-a controversy with people on both sides voicing strong opinions.  I saw comments about religious people who practice hate and ignorant people who did not do their research.   I received calls and texts from friends asking about my opinion (totally flattered by that by the way) and asking if I had gone to chick-fil-a for dinner (our laundry room smelled like Chinese yesterday so we got Chinese…it was delicious).  Naturally Tim and I discussed our thoughts on the matter and things got confusing fast.  Part of us wanted to think in terms of humanness , but being people of God we ultimately could not ignore completely that were are sojourners, aliens, temporary nomads living and loving in this world but not living or loving of this world, because we are going to a perfect place soon enough, our true home where there is no more chick-fil-a controversies.

The conversation ultimately led me to shake my head in frustration and declare that none of this was actually important.  That the only important thing was to do what Jesus said, love Him, and love others, it all comes down to that (just like He said… crazy).  But part of me wondered if I was cheating, taking the easy road, ignoring my duty as christian (or maybe as a “merican”).

And then today happened, praise the Lamb (stolen words of Missy Patterson).

“Put not your trust in princes
in a son of man, in whom there is no salvation.
When his breath departs, he returns to the earth;
on that very day his plans perish.”
Psalm 146: 3-4

And I quote people much smarter than myself “it is vain to put one’s trust in princes, who are mere mortals.  Governments and armies have their proper place, but their merely human power is not ultimately decisive in the world that God rules.”  So first, no I am not denouncing government, or democracy, or voting, or patriotism, or any of those things that have their proper place, but once again I am so thankful that I have come to know a God that I can place my trust in while I live in this crazy confusing world.

Because that is what this world is: confusing, broken, fallen, far from perfect.  While Tim and I were talking we concluded that if we were going to believe God’s story, then we were going to have to believe it fully for what it is, and that means the very first chapters of it; God created everything and it was good, God created man and it was good, God created woman and then it was very good (I’m snickering a little right now).  But then man and woman, humans, we fell from God and things got confusing fast.  Within the same book a murder occurs, daughters sleep with the fathers, thievery, rape, poverty, illness, death everything begins unraveling so fast!

Now thousands of years later we don’t have hundreds, or even hundreds of thousands of people, we have billions of people living on this earth.  The more people, the more nations, the more confusion.  The world has seen great empires rise and fall, it has experienced great tragedies, depressions, and divisions.  This world is so confusing.  So once again, praise the Lamb that we have a God who is NOT confused, who sees the whole picture, who, unlike me, has a perfect perspective and has paid the ultimate price to return us where we were meant to be.

A perfect place: where there is no brokenness, where we (or maybe just me) are not longer confused, where we are made new, where it is once again perfect.

So what happens in the meantime?

“Blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob,
whose hope is in the Lord his God,
who made heaven and earth,
the sea, and all that is in them,
who keeps faith forever;
who executes justice for the oppressed,
who gives food to the hungry.”
Psalm 146: 5-7

The person who is able to find the perfect God in this crazy world, the God who can see everything when we only see a small part, is blessed.  And for me, it is easy to see why.  I spend so much of my time frustrated by elections (ugh the season is upon us), poverty (how can some have so much when many have so little), gay marriage rights (I can’t imagine being told it wasn’t right to love Tim whom I care so much about) taxing (economics… yeah not happening), and so much more (world hunger, lack of clean water, child mortality rates… the list goes on forever).  It all makes my head want to explode in frustration, until I can remember that I trust in a perfect God, who has a perfect plan that is in the works.

So no matter what comes of chick-fil-a, the dog abusing candidates in this election(seriously is this what our politics have come to?), gay marriage rights, taxes, wars, or whatever this world throws my way I am blessed, because I find my help in the God of Jacob, in Jesus of Nazareth, in my beloved Holy Spirit.

I have my opinions and I will stand for them. Opinions I believe that both honor God and respect people, and they have their proper place. But no matter what this world chooses, I choose God. And therefore I am content and free to love.

“The Lord sets the prisoners free;
the Lord opens the eyes of the blind.
The Lord lifts up those who are bowed down;
the Lord loves the righteous.
The Lord watches over the sojourners;
he upholds the widow and the fatherless,
but the way of the wicked he brings to ruin.”
Psalm 146: 8-9

Jesus said to love Him, and love others.  He gave the Holy Spirit to help make disciples of all nations, and to help us be his hands and feet.  So no matter what our future leader, or any corporation chooses to support, we as people of God feed the hungry, help free the oppressed, give water to the thirsty, and love.  We love in all ways tangible, and we bring our perfect God to this confused world in ways both big and small.  Into the darkness He shines.

“Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, O my soul!
I will praise the Lord as long as I live;
I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.”
Psalm 146:1-2

